Audio Books


The Crimson Fairy Book


9998 in stock



The Crimson Fairy Book was written and published in 1903. A book consisting of 36 tales from Hungary, Russia, Finland, Iceland, Tunisia, the Baltic, and from other many sources. The Crimson Fairy Book contains stories such as Lovely Ilonka, Lucky Luck, The Hairy Man, To Your Good Health!, The Story of the Seven Simons, The Language of Beasts, The Boy Who Could Keep a Secret, The Prince and the Dragon, Little Wildrose, Tiidu the Piper, Paperarello, The Gifts of the Magician, The Strong Prince, The Treasure Seeker, The Cottager and his Cat, The Prince Who Would Seek Immortality, The Stone-cutter, The Gold-bearded Man, Tritill, Litill, and the Birds, The Three Robes, The Six Hungry Beasts, How the Beggar Boy turned into Count Piro, The Rogue and the Herdsman, Eisenkopf, The Death of Abu Nowas and of his Wife, Motikatika, Niels and the Giants, Shepherd Paul, How the Wicked Tanuki was Punished, The Crab and the Monkey, The Horse Gullfaxi and the Sword Gunnfoder, The Story of the Sham Prince, or the Ambitious Tailor, The Colony of Cats, How to find out a True Friend, Clever Maria, and The Magic Kettle. The Crimson Fairy Book was collected and written by Andrew Lang, a Scottish poet, novelist, literary critic, and anthropologist. He is famous for his collection of both folk and fairy tales. The Andrew Lang lectures at the University of St Andrews are named after him. He is best known for his stories on folklore, mythology, and religion. He was inspired in writing folklore in his childhood years because of John Ferguson McLennan and Sir Edward Burnett Tylor. In his book of Myth, Ritual and Religion, he narrated the unintelligible facets of mythology as a constancy from more basic strategies. He was a co-founder of psychical research and some anthropology records.

Additional information

Weight 3.5 oz
Dimensions 7.5 × 5.5 × 0.5 in