Audio Books


Five Little Peppers and How They Grew


9999 in stock



The Five Little Peppers series was written by Margaret Sidney narrating the lives of five youngsters with the family name Pepper. The Pepper kids were much penniless, and their widowed mother took care of them all by herself. In accordance with their age, in descending order, their names were Ben (Ebaniezer), Polly (Mary), Joel, Davie, and Phronsie. Five Little Peppers and How They Grew is the 1st volume in the sequels. The story includes: A Home View; Making Happiness for Mamsie; Mamsie’s Birthday; Trouble for the Little Brown House; More Trouble; Hard Days for Polly; The Cloud over the Little Brown House; Joel’s Turn; Sunshine Again; A Threatened Blow; Safe; New Friends; Phronsie Pays a Debt of Gratitude; A Letter to Jasper; Jolly Days; Getting a Christmas for the Little Ones; Christmas Bells!; Education Ahead; Brave Work and the Reward; Polly is Comforted; Phronsie; Getting Ready for Mamsie and the Boys; Which Treats of a Good Many Matters; Polly’s Dismal Morning; and Polly’s Big Bundle. Margaret Sidney was the fictitious name of US author Harriett Mulford Stone Lothrop. Aside from her famous tales for little kids, she managed her husband Daniel Lothrop’s publishing house after de died. Then they purchased The Wayside country house, they labored well to form it an institution of literary career. She also wrote: So as by Fire; Half Year at Bronckton; The Pettibone Name, a novel of New England life; What the Seven Did; Who Told it to Me; Ballad of the Lost Hare; The Golden West; How they Went to Europe; Hester, and other New England Stories; The Minute-Man; Two Modern Little Princes; Dilly and the Captain; St. George and the Dragon; The Judges’ Cave; Being a Romance of the New Haven Colony in the Days of the Regicides, 1661; A Little Maid of Concord Town, on a patriotic theme; A Little Maid of Boston Town, also on a patriotic theme; and some other interesting stories.

Additional information

Weight 3.5 oz
Dimensions 7.5 × 5.5 × 0.5 in